Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies Scheduled

Community News |May 25, 2021|3 min read

MUSKEGON, Mich., May 25, 2021 – The 34th Annual Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame Induction ceremony is an opportunity to honor our local heroes and legends.

This year the Hall welcomes in four new members, another Distinguished Service Award winner and male and female student/athlete recipients from both 2020 and 2021.

The 2021 Scholar Athlete Award winners are Brady Rose, Mona Shores (Football) and Kenzie Bowers, Kent City (Basketball).

The 2021 Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame induction class is comprised of Robin Bouchard (hockey), Matt Brink (wrestling/football), Cheryl Day (basketball) and Johnny Mitchell (track and field). Jim Rudicil, Executive Director of the Muskegon Winter Sports Complex, is the Gene Young Distinguished Service Award recipient.

Last year’s MASHF Scholar-Athlete Award winners, Muskegon’s Cameron Martinez and Grand Haven’s Kathryn Ackerman, also will be invited to the ceremony as the 2020 banquet was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The event will be held at the Mercy Health Arena (formerly L.C. Walker Arena) on Saturday June 12, 2021 from 6:00pm – 10:00pm. The event is open to the public.

In addition to the induction ceremonies, attendees will be provided with heavy hors d’oeuvres – buffet style. Adult beverages will be available for purchase. Tickets are $30 each and can be purchased at:

Brady Rose was instrumental in Mona Shores winning back-to-back Division 2 football state championships in 2019 and 2020. The quarterback, safety and all-around standout earned 2020 MLive Player of the Year and Associated Press Division 1-2 Player of the Year awards. He was first-team all-state both seasons in addition to various other accolades.

Kenzie Bowers has earned varsity letters in softball, track and field and cross country, but basketball is her No. 1 sport.  Kenzie earned AP first-team all-state accolades all four years and she was a Miss Basketball candidate. She is Kent City’s all-time leading scorer, girl or boy, with 1,822 career points.

Robin Bouchard starred for the Muskegon Fury and Lumberjacks. Bouchard holds the modern day goal scoring record in minor league hockey with 6867 goals. He won five championships during his professional seasons.

Matt Brink was an All Sate performer in wrestling and football a Fruitport High School. Brink was a three time State Champion wrestler and the only wrestler in Michigan High School Athletic Association history to win a heavy weight state title as a freshman.

Cheryl Day starred on the hard court at Muskegon Heights High School, Muskegon Community College and the University of Detroit-Mercy. She was the first Muskegon Heights girl’s basketball player to have her jersey retired after she scored 1,004 career points.

Johnny Mitchel earned state wide and national honors in 1982 and 1983 in the discus for Muskegon High School.  Mitchel earned All-State honors and was considered the top discus thrower in the country in 1983.

Jim Rudicil will be awarded the Gene Young Distinguished Service Award.  The award is presented to a member of the community in honor of their dedication to athletics in a non-participatory manner. Jim has been the Executive Director of the Muskegon Luge Adventure Sports Park for 21 years.  He has grown the park to become a major tourist destination in West Michigan. The park features year round sports activities including winter and summer luge, cross country skiing, a zip line and many other activities.

Gene Young was the longtime president of the Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame and a local sports legend as a star athlete, an educator and a sports broadcaster.