Brianna T. Scott recognized as the 2019 ATHENA On The Lakeshore Award recipient

Chamber Blog |Oct 1, 2019|2 min read

Brianna T. Scott

Brianna T. Scott, Attorney/Member-Owner at Brianna T. Scott & Associates, PLLC, was honored as the 2019 ATHENA on the Lakeshore Award Recipient. The announcement was made today at the annual luncheon celebration, held at the Spring Lake Country Club. The ATHENA awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding lakeshore women who have demonstrated excellence in their business or profession, have provided valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in their community, assist women in reaching their full potential and exhibit the spirit of regional collaboration.


Brianna T. Scott, Attorney/Member-Owner at Brianna T. Scott & Associates, PLLC began practicing law in 2000 and was the first African American attorney hired by the Muskegon County Prosecutors office. Five years later, she started her own practice to become the only female minority-owned law firm on the Lakeshore. The time and commitment to her career did not stop her from giving back to the community.  She was the first African American President of the Muskegon Rotary Club and as co-chair of the Rotary Diversity and Inclusion committee, she spearheaded new events to engage the entire community under the theme “Love Lives Here”. Her latest achievement exemplifies her loyalty to Spartans and the safety of women and social justice, as she has won a position on the Michigan State University Board of Trustees.


The ATHENA on the Lakeshore program also recognizes a Young Professional Recipient each year. Abby Selby, CPA at Selby Tax and Accounting, was honored as the 2019 ATHENA on the Lakeshore Young Professional Award Recipient. An entrepreneur at heart, Abby has a passion for business prosperity and building relationships as a business owner and volunteer for many charitable events.


The recipients are chosen by a selection committee composed of representatives from the participating Chambers and community business leaders. Nine finalists and ten young professional finalists were recognized at the luncheon, which was attended by over 300 regional community and business leaders.