Chamber Blog |Aug 21, 2018|2 min read

Muskegon, Michigan – The ATHENA on the Lakeshore committee is pleased to announce the 2018 ATHENA Award Finalists and the 2018 ATHENA Young Professional Award Finalists. Celebrating its 14th year, the ATHENA awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding lakeshore women who have demonstrated excellence in their business or profession, provided valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in their community, assisted women in reaching their full potential and exhibit the spirit of regional collaboration. This year, we celebrate nine ATHENA Finalists and four Young Professional Finalists.



2018 ATHENA Award Finalists


Zaneta Adams, William Hughes, PLLC; WINC; Lighthouse for Veterans


Mary Boyd, Mercy Health & St. Joseph Health System


Jennifer Bustard, Mona Shores Public Schools


Pam Curtis, Senior Resources of West Michigan


Kimberly Maguire, Mercy Health Muskegon


Julia Rupp, HealthWest


Brianna Scott, Brianna T. Scott & Associates


Chris Stevenson, JW’s and J-Dubs


Barbara Lee VanHorssen, Extended Grace



2018 ATHENA Young Professional Award Finalists


Sara Barco, Weiss Chiropractic


Meghan Heritage, Blue West Properties


Dena Isabell, Consumers Energy


Cece Riley, HealthWest



The ATHENA Award presentation luncheon will be held on Tuesday, October 2, 2018, at Muskegon Country Club. Reservations are required. Cost to attend is $35 per person for chamber members, $55 per person for non-members or $400 for corporate table of eight. A portion of all tickets sales supports local leadership programs. Reservations can be made by visiting or by calling the Muskegon Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce at 231.722.3751.


ATHENA on the Lakeshore continues to be a unique program supporting, developing and honoring women leaders along the lakeshore. ATHENA on the Lakeshore is a program of the Muskegon Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce and The Chamber of Commerce Grand Haven, Spring Lake, Ferrysburg. PNC Bank is the premier sponsor.