Announcing the ATHENA On The Lakeshore Award finalists

Community News |Aug 21, 2019|2 min read

The ATHENA on the Lakeshore committee is pleased to announce the 2019 ATHENA Award Finalists and the 2019 ATHENA Young Professional Award Finalists. Celebrating its 15th year, the ATHENA awards are presented annually to celebrate both women and men for their professional excellence, community service and mentoring.


2019 ATHENA Award Finalists

Michelle Anthes, McShane & Bowie, PLC

Tabatha Barber-Duell, MHPP- North Ottawa Women’s Health

Kathryn Drake, Grand Haven Area Public Schools

Karen Fredricks, Multistate Insurance Agency

Cara L. Galbavi, Cara Galbavi Law

Poppy Sias Hernandez, Community Affairs, Governor Whitmer

Judith Kell, Mercy Health Muskegon

Brianna Scott, Brianna T. Scott & Associates, PLLC

Barbara Lee VanHorssen, Extended Grace/Momentum Center for Social Engagement


2019 ATHENA Young Professional Award Finalists

Sara Barco, True Self Consulting LLC

Samantha M. Ferguson, MPA, Community Foundation for Muskegon County

Lauren Grevel, Grand Haven Area Community Foundation

Courtney Jackson, Muskegon Museum of Art

Catherine Mott, Muskegon Museum of Art

Tina Orchard, ChoiceOne Bank

Morgan Rescorla, Best Financial Credit Union/County Teachers Insurance Agency

Holly Schroeder, Manpower

Abby Selby, Selby Tax & Accounting PC

Kara Zielinski, United Way of the Lakeshore


The award recipients will be announced and honored at the ATHENA on the Lakeshore Award Luncheon on Tuesday, October 1, 2019 at the Spring Lake Country Club. Reservations can be made by visiting or by calling the Muskegon Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce at 231.722.3751.