ATHENA on the Lakeshore

Two awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding lakeshore women who excel in their professions, give back to their communities and help to raise other women leaders. The award luncheon is held the first Tuesday in October. Due to COVID, the 2020 ATHENA awards have been postponed to 2021.


Become a Sponsor

2019 Recipients: Brianna T. Scott and Abby Selby

About ATHENA on the Lakeshore


ATHENA International is a non-profit organization that seeks to support, develop and honor women leaders. The program was founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz. Since the program’s inception, more than 7,000 awards have been presented in over 500 communities across 8 countries.

Leadership Model

The ATHENA leadership model identifies eight attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership: living authentically, learning constantly, advocating fiercely, acting courageously, fostering collaboration, building relationships, giving back and celebrating.


This committee gathers monthly to produce the ATHENA on the Lakeshore Awards.

List of members

Past Recipients

Brianna T. Scott (2019), Mary Boyd (2018), Kelly Springer (2017), Tracy L.N. Wilson (2016), Renae Hesselink (2015), Helen Zeerip (2014), Leslie Brown (2013), Patricia VerDuin (2012), Candace Dugan (2011), Elizabeth Rolinski (2010), Blanche Smith (2009), Judith Hayner (2008), Nancy Miller (2007), Nancy McCarthy (2006), Nancy Crandall (2005)


Past Young Recipients

Abby Selby (2019), Meghan Heritage (2018), Stefanie Herder (2017), Sara Julius (2016), Sarah Rinsema-Sybenga (2015), Kris Collee (2014)


Award Luncheon

The 2020 ATHENA on the Lakeshore Award Luncheon will be held on October 6 at the Delta by Marriott Hotels in Downtown Muskegon.

Register now